Talk to an agent: (678) 973-1942
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Georgia Car Insurance Laws: Everything That You Need To Know

Before you drive your car on to the roads of Georgia, there are some very important rules that you need to know. Insurance is a primary factor and having any car insurance policy will not suffice. There are some guidelines set forward by the state authorities that you need to follow carefully. Any violation of such rule could easily land you in trouble. Let us take a look at some of the basic rules that you need to follow when it comes to Georgia car insurance.

You need to submit proof of insurance. In case you are driving a vehicle in Georgia, it is mandatory that you purchase a liability insurance coverage to prove that you are financially responsible for the vehicle that you are driving. You will have to submit this proof at the time of getting your vehicle registered. After the year 2002, authorities have made it mandatory that all insurance companies must provide electronic data of the policy holders to comply with the newly set up compliance system.

Guidelines for liability insurance.

The authorities in Georgia have defined minimum levels of liability insurance that each person owning a car must have. This is mandatory and violation in this respect will be considered an offence. The minimum liability that passengers in a vehicle will be entitled to if there is accident caused the driver will be $25000 subject to a maximum of $50000 per car. You can also claim up to $25000 for damages that have occurred to the vehicle. However, you can file spate civil suits if you wish to claim additional damages.

Need for increased liability insurance

Though there is a minimum liability insurance level defined under Georgia car insurance laws, there are times when you may have to buy more than the minimum required levels of liability insurance. This usually happens in the case of you having secured a vehicle loan or a lease for your vehicle. In such cases, the minimum liability insurance levels will be determined by the dealers. Alternatively, you could also choose to buy higher liability coverage to protect you from lawsuits in case of accidents. It is always better to have sufficient levels of coverage to avoid complications in the event of an unfortunate incident.

Timely renewal to avoid penalties

It is mandatory under Georgia law that you renew you insurance coverage in a timely manner. In case of lapses in this respect from your side you could end up paying penalties and having your registration suspended. However, the state allows you a grace time of 30 days to renew your insurance coverage in GA. In case you do not comply within this time frame then you will have to pay a lapse fee. If you fail to make the lapse fee payment within a month then you could end up getting your registration suspended and you will have to fork put additional charges for reinstating the registration.

Georgia auto insurance laws are very clear and transparent. It is in your best interests to spend some time understanding them to avoid pitfalls in the future. Check out cheap insurance rate now by entering your zip code above.

The Things That No One Is Telling You About Car Insurance Law In Georgia

Georgia car insurance laws are one of the strictest and at the same time, strangest laws in the United States. Not knowing them can cost you from you heard earn dollars. However, if you are familiar with what the insurance law requires from every driver in the state of Georgia, you`ll probably be alright. Here are some overviews on some of the things about auto insurance laws in this great state that nobody has told you about before, unless they are imposed to you.

The tort system

Georgia is one of the few states that follow this system when it comes to traffic accidents. This system was and still is a subject of many debates, but regardless it’s still in force. The car insurance law in Georgia says that for every traffic accident someone needs to be at fault. There is no problem up to this point, and it makes perfect sense. However, there is one law that says that motorists in Georgia are not required to own an insurance policy. In case you are involved in an accident with a motorist that doesn’t own any insurance policy, your policy will cover all the damage regardless whose fault it is.

More exceptions

Another way to pay for someone’s mistakes is if you are involved in an accident with vehicles that are allowed on the roads and at the same time as with motorcycles are not covered by insurance policies. Vehicles used seasonally for agricultural purposes don’t need to be covered with an insurance policy. However, that doesn’t mean that accidents with those vehicles don’t happen. On the contrary, this happens and as with motorcycles, their insurances cover the cost regardless whose fault is it. Once again, the car driver`s insurance policy covers the damage caused in the accident.

The alternatives

The alternative to purchasing car insurance policy in GA is to secure a bank deposit or a bond that can guarantee that you have the minimum coverage (injury and property damage coverage minimum) $100.000. If you want to go down that road you need to address the Georgia Insurance and safety fire commissioner for that matter.

25/50/25

This is often used to describe the minimum requirement insurance for the state of Georgia. 25/50/25 has the following meaning:

–              The policy must be able to cover at least $25.000 per person, per accident.

–              The policy must be able to cover at least $50.000 per accident if two or more people are hurt in the accident.

–              The policy must be able to produce at least $25.000 for property damages.

*This is under the assumption that the insurer is at fault for the accident.

In case if you are involved in an accident in which the other party does not possess any insurance (motorcycle or agricultural vehicle), you are not entitle to any money compensation. Even though this sounds bit unreal and unfair, those are the insurance laws which are in force for now. The only thing that one can do is to make sure that he is not overpaying on his insurance rates.

The best way to make sure you don’t do that is to enter your zip above and check out some of the offered quotes. You might not be able to change car insurance laws in Georgia but you can definitely change your insurance rates.