Talk to an agent: (678) 973-1942
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Penalties You Can Be Convicted For Breaking The Rules In Georgia

Georgia Auto Insurance Laws utilizes the state drunk driving and DUI (driving under the influence) interchangeably. Nevertheless, the trend is actually shifting in order to minimize drunk driving. This implies to people driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.

Alcohol content is done by examining the breath, pee or blood stream sample and if one is positive for driving under the influence, fees and penalties will be charged. In Georgia, the BAC is .08% or higher. On the other hand, there are instances wherein one will be charged of DUI even though the BAC is less .08%. This is wherein the officer realized that your own automotive capability is reduced which makes you valuable for driving.

Additionally, aside from alcoholic beverages and unlawful medicine which is the obvious cause of drunk driving, legally recommended over the counter medications may also allow you to get in danger. If not taken properly, they can limit your driving capabilities.

Throughout the 1980’s, Georgia started screening applications in order to monitor the safety of the passengers. The program indicated that intervention can help to conserve lives and the programs had been implemented state-wide. The following are the penalties and sanctions that a drunk driver will have to face when caught.

Court-enforced Penalties

AutoInsuranceInGeorgiaFirst offense: A person charged associated with drunk driving the first time is going to be charged having a misdemeanor and will be faced with the following punishments:

  • An amount of $300 to $1,000.
  • Imprisonment associated with ten days to 12 weeks which can be reduced unless your BAC is .08% which will allow you to be in jail in no less than 24 hours.
  • At least forty hours community support. If your BAC is under .08%, it can be reduced to 20 hours.
  •  Completion from the Danger Reduction Plan. The program is actually purchased for all those drunken driving prosecutions.
  • Probation period up to 12 week, including period offered.
  • suspension of permit for one year

Second offense will result to a person facing the following punishments:

  • An amount of $600 to $1,000.
  • Nine to twelve weeks imprisonment.
  • A minimum of thirty days community support.
  • Completion from the Danger Reduction Plan. The very program is actually purchased for all those prosecutions of drunk driving.
  • A clinical assessment to find out if one is an alcoholic and to plan for treatment if essential.
  • The Probation duration of twelve weeks such as time provided.
  • Three year license suspensions.

Third criminal offense: Another DUI conviction enhances the charge of higher punishments, fees and penalties such as the following:

  • Fine of $1,000 to $5,000.
  • Mandatory prison phrase of 4 weeks to twelve weeks.
  • Minimum four weeks of the service.
  • Completion in the Risk Decrease Program. This program is bought for those driving under the influence convictions.
  • Clinical assessment and finishing a substance misuse treatment plan if necessary.
  • Probation associated with 12 weeks.
  • Five year permit suspension.

The “nolo contender” plea will not be able to assist you in Atlanta. A nolo contender request is, as far as effects proceed, just like pleading guilty. It’ll cost you of DUI that will carry on your report and can depend just like a responsible plea.

Car owner Education: You’ll be able to have a state-approved intoxicated driving/Defensive Driver program once and every 5 years to reduce the amount of factors gathered inside your license. The program might even assist decrease your Georgia car insurance charges. The program won’t lower your fee for anyone who is billed of DUI.

Hence, one may easily say that Georgia Auto Insurance will be a good choice for you. To search for an insurance plan that will suit you best, you can enter your zip code at the space provided above this site.