Talk to an agent: (678) 973-1942
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Why Do I Need To Hire A DUI Lawyer?

Mostly, when we are guilty about anything we generally try to avoid do such things which can lead towards the unveiling of that guilt, mistake, blunder or crime. The same is the case when we are drunk or drugged and driving. If a police officer ever tries to stop us when we are under the influence, the very first thought that comes to mind is to just avoid taking the test that would prove our guilt, as doing so would just direct us towards a DUI offense case. Whether we are drunk or not, the fact of the matter is that our refusal for such a necessary action would lead us towards getting convicted of DUI.

Whenever any officer has a doubt on a rough driver that he is drunk, he will immediately ask for a breath, blood or urine test to decide about DUI allegations, they are trained in that way. But mostly, we get offended and refuse to give such type of tests that according to Georgia state law leads to DUI/DWI offense case. In such type of cases, police officer will take our driving license and report a case to suspend your license but he will also give an opportunity to request for hearing to let you tell your part of the story and within 30 days. You can challenge this suspension of your driving license. Refusal effect on DUI case could lead into so many mishaps.

Now, if you do not challenge the suspension or you have requested it and you have failed in challenging the suspension, then you will have one year suspension on your driving license. Now, here is a very crucial thing to be noted down that it will be for one year if only your last time refusal was five years ago.

Anyway, the most important thing to be notice that suspension starts after 30 days maximum, if you want to stop the suspension then you can do that by just following two simple rules:

1.            Complete a program related to drug-risk reduction

2.            Resettlement of your license by paying a fee of $210.

Now, if within five years you refused for the second times then you can ask for resettlement after 18 months and your license will be suspended for next three years and you still  have to fulfill the above mentioned two points which are to complete a program and pay the license fee.

For any future refusal that could be your third one then the driving license would be suspended for five years and you have take a longest program to get back your license, still you can apply for a probationary license after two years of your suspension. (1)

Can anyone refuse to give BAC test? It does not matter whether you refuse from the BAC test or not, you are still alleged for the accusation of DUI offense. In Georgia, the refusal consequences are simpler then DUI when it comes to prison, fine and other charges.

Enter your zip code in the box given above and our partners, who are top auto insurance providers in the state of Georgia would explain every single intricacy associated with a DUI offense.

Facts About Georgia Car Insurance Laws

Each state has its own set of insurance laws from which large numbers are pretty similar or same. Georgia car insurance laws, at least good percentage are in compliance with most of the insurance laws in the other states. However, there are few insurance laws in Georgia that are typical for only few more states. Everyone that purchases auto insurance policy in Georgia needs to comply with Georgia’s insurance regulations if he wants his vehicle to be registered. Not complying means that you will drive your vehicle illegally and there is a big chance that you will be penalized for that.

According to the state if a Georgia auto insurance regulation, every driver is obligated to obtain both types of coverage. In addition to that, everyone in your household that uses the auto needs to possess such coverage or have proof of it when using the vehicle. The point is that the insurance coverage is needed per person rather than per car. However, there are few exemptions to this regulation. That is in cases when the vehicle is salvaged, wrecked, junked, when the lease is terminated or the ownership is transferred to another state. The exemption is applicable to owners of motorcycles and agricultural vehicles used for season work as well.

In case that none of the mentioned exceptions is applicable to your situation, you and every one of your family that uses the car are obligated by law to obtain injury liability coverage. According to the car insurance law in Georgia, the minimum coverage for one person is at least $25.000, for more persons per accident the minimum is $50.000 and for damage property the minimum is set at $25.000. That is commonly known as 25/50/25.

The state of Georgia is not a no-fault state. That means that in case of a car accident, the involved parties are not obligated to cover their own medical or other expenses cause by the accident, if any. Only the driver who caused the accident through his insurance policy pays the bill. In addition to that, the innocent party has the legal right to seek further compensation from the party who is found at fault.

The best way to be sure that you are fully covered is to buy a bigger insurance policy. The thing is that the minimum required basic policy is rarely enough to cover any expense that is having in mind how much hospitals charge for a simple procedure or what if you hit some luxury car. The $50.000 in that case is just a fraction of the cost and it may easily be required to pay from your own pocket for the rest of the bill.

Getting a good rate on any auto insurance policy in Georgia is not as hard as one would think. The best way to do so is by getting quotes from different insurance companies.

If you wondered how to do so, just look above on this same page and you will see a sign that says enter your zip code. Once you see it simply enter your zip code and you will get plenty of quotes from a number of companies.  Find the lowest for the coverage you had in mind and you will be sure that the car insurance laws in Georgia won’t make you awake at night.

A Close Look At Auto Insurance In Georgia

The state of Georgia deems it necessary for every single driver in the state to present a proof of their financial responsibilities towards their vehicles by purchasing what is known as a liability insurance policy. But in certain cases that are extremely rare, it is possible for individuals to even get their vehicles self-insured by approaching the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner. In order to get a vehicle registered, it is necessary for the owner to present a proof of GA car insurance. Back in the year 2002, the state of Georgia deemed it necessary for all the insurance companies to submit and electronic copy of the information of the policy holder to the Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System.

cheapAutoInsuranceInVirginiaIn the year 2010, the minimum liability insurance requirements in the state of Georgia for the ownership of a car have been set at what is generally known within the state as 25/50/25. The first two basic numbers, which are 25/50 are basically represented in thousands of dollars and are indicative of the limit that has been set for personal bodily injury liability. The last number which is 25 is used to indicate the limit that has been set by the state for property damage liability. For instance, consider that an accident takes place and is basically caused by a driver that has minimum Georgia liability insurance, than every single person that gets injured in the other car is going to receive up to $25,000 with a limit per vehicle of up to $50,000. Any additional expenses that occur can easily be acquired by the injured party by filing a suit against the driver. Damages that have been caused to the vehicle will be paid for up to $25,000. However, if the injured party wants to, they can pursue any additional property damage claims in court as well.

People that possess a lease or an outstanding car note are required to buy more than the preset minimum liability insurance. The leasing company has the potential to protect the investment that it has made in the car by fixing its very own minimum liability amount. However, the owner of the car has the ability to increase the GA vehicle insurance coverage amount on their vehicle so that they can be protected against law suits just in case an accident is caused because of them. This additional coverage amount plays a major role in averting them from lawsuits that might be filed against them in case an accident takes place because of their negligence or carelessness.

Lapses in coverage and the fines that is applicable on them

•             Fines for Lapses in Coverage

•             The state of Georgia allows a 30-day grace period for new insurance information to be electronically submitted to its database.

As of 2005, if there is an additional lapse of 10 days without Georgia auto insurance, the car owner will be charged a lapse fee. If the lapse fee has not been paid within 30 days, the car’s registration will be suspended, and an additional reinstatement fee will be added. A second lapse within a five-year period requires a mandatory registration suspension of 90 days. A third lapse within a five-year period requires a six-month suspension and a higher reinstatement fee. If the car was sold, stolen or repossessed, the former owner must submit an affidavit to the Georgia Department of Driver Services to have the fines removed.

Factors You Should Know About Georgia Auto Insurance Laws Before Getting A Policy

Auto insurance laws are rather strictly enforced in the state of Georgia, for which reason it is necessary for you to make sure that you never drive your car insurance having an insurance policy at hand.

It is necessary for motor vehicle owners that are situated in Georgia to continually make sure that their mandatory auto liability insurance coverage over their cars are regularly maintained. The vehicle needs to be legally driven, should have a Georgia based license plate or tags, and the tags should be renewed, replaced or even transferred to the original owners name.

In terms of the minimum amount of Georgia auto insurance that you need to carry, well that is subjected to about $25,000 for every person in terms of bodily injury, around $25,000 for every accident for property damage, and about $50,000 for bodily injury that might occur on around a minimum of two people. However, if you ever get involved in a serious offense and cause major damage, than you are bound to find that these insurance requirements would not suffice.

In order to satisfy the requirements of law, every single car being driven in the state of Georgia needs to possess at least this basic minimum auto insurance coverage. For those that are interested in renting a car in this state, by law, the rental company needs to provide the necessary liability auto insurance to the state. However, just in case the current car insurance policy in Georgia states that you own does not cover auto insurance that is meant for rental cars, then it is necessary for you to acquire liability auto insurance straight from the company from which you are renting the car.

If you allow your GA auto insurance to lapse, not only would you be susceptible to stiff penalties, there is also a fair chance that the automobile registration of your car might be suspended by the authorities. A lapse in the state of Georgia basically occurs when 10 continuous days pass by without you having auto insurance coverage. In terms of a lapse, you will be subjected to a $25 penalty lapse fee together with a reinstatement fee that comes to about $60. Both of these need to be paid before having your license plates renewed. The fees would continue to increase in terms of a second or third offense, so you need to be really very careful. By the third offense, you can rest assured that your reinstatement fees would be reaching up to about a full $160. You will also be charged with a misdemeanor just in case you are caught driving around with a registration that has a suspended status.

The state of Georgia is basically known to follow what is known as a Tort system which basically implies that you are not required to acquire PIP or personal injury protection insurance coverage. You also do not need to acquire Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage or UN/UIM. However, there are a plethora of people across Georgia that purchases this to enhance their auto insurance policies.

If you wish to acquire the best quotes from Georgia auto insurance laws, just enter your zip code and our partners will offer the top quotes for free!

Important Things To Discover About Georgia Car Insurance Law

Georgia is known for many things and for some for its strict enforcement of its car insurance laws. Georgia auto insurance laws are pretty specific and are much different than the parallel laws in other states. The important thing to remember is not to drive without the minimum required insurance or with suspended, cancelled or revoked tag. Each of the vehicle owners and lessees in Georgia are obligated to possess continuous car liability insurance policy on their vehicle/vehicles in order to:

–              Replace, renew or transfer their current Georgia license tags (plates).

–              To register and possess Georgia license tags (plates).

–              Legally drive their vehicles in the state of Georgia.

According to Georgia auto insurance laws, every driver on its roads needs to possess insurance policy that covers $25.000 for bodily injury, $50.000 for bodily injury, per accident is there are two or more people involved, and at least $50.000 per accident in case of property damages. Unfortunately, in many cases, these insurance requirements are far from enough for many serious accidents.

Rental auto insurance requirements: The state of Georgia requires every car on its roads and highways to possess at least the minimum car insurance coverage. Rent-a-cars as such are no exceptions. In case you are staying in the state of Georgia and you rent a car for whatever purpose, the rental company is obligated by law to provide you with insurance policy. If the GA car insurance policy that you possess or your credit card is not enough to cover auto insurance for rentals, you need to purchase liability car insurance from the car rental service.

In case you allow your auto insurance to lapse, you risk to be fined by the authorities. According to Georgia insurance laws, “laps” is defined as ten or more days without insurance coverage. The fine for that is $25 along with additional $60 for reinstatement to renew your license tags. For second offence the fee will increase, by the third offense the reinstatement feel will raise to $160. If you keep on ignoring your insurance renewal if caught you can and will be charged with a misdemeanor.

Another very important thing to remember about the auto insurance in this state is that it follows a tort system. Tort system means that the state does not require from its motorists to have underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage, nor PIP (personal injury protection). Regardless of that many motorists in the state of Georgia possess some of these insurances. The thing with the tort system is that if the other involved party in the accident is a motorist without any insurance coverage, your insurance covers the damages or injuries regardless whose fault is.

Even though that the tort system is not the most perfect insurance system in the world, it`s still in power in Georgia. Many motorists know that and have sense for that and buy some type of insurance coverage. Regardless if you are a motorist or a car driver the best way to obtain auto insurance is by getting quotes from as much as possible insurance companies. You can do that now if you just enter your zip code above on this page and wait for a while. Once you find your lowest quote you can buy your insurance policy and make sure that you abide all auto insurance laws in Georgia.

Why Avoid Minimum Georgia Auto Insurance Requirements?

Even though it’s not the case with some states, Georgia auto insurance laws needs to be taken very seriously because of many reasons  but mainly that it treats harshly anyone that doesn’t follow them. In order to be able to drive legally on the roads and highways in the state of Georgia, every driver needs to fulfill the minimum insurance requirements. Even though that the state minimum will help you to drive legally, many recommend a bigger policy. Here are the minimum requirements, what that means to you as a driver, why it’s a good idea to purchase a bigger auto insurance policy and how to obtain the best rate.

Minimum insurance requirements in Georgia.

The minimum insurance policy can cover costs up to $25.000 per person for body injuries, $50.000 for body injuries for more than one person and up to $25.000 for property damages. Without this policy, no one can legally operate a vehicle in the state of Georgia. However, there are few exceptions that the law recognizes. The state of Georgia doesn`t require any insurance policies for motorcycles, certain seasonal agricultural vehicles, stolen vehicles, non-drivable vehicles, junked  or salvaged vehicles. This is important to know because in case you with your vehicle are involved in accident with the vehicles that are on the exceptions lists, your insurance policy in GA will cover the damage regardless whose fault is. This is because of the tort system which is still in force in Georgia.

Can you trick the system?

If you don`t want to mess with the state of Georgia once you purchase your policy, you need to make sure that you have it all time in your vehicle and to renew it when the time comes to do so. The renewable date is something that you can check on your insurance policy papers. In case you forgot to renew it, the state of Georgia can send you a small fine. That is if you don`t renew it within the first ten days after the expiration of the renewal date. Another way to check your renewal date is to go online and visit the official web site of the Department of Revenue.

Why go for bigger insurance policy?

The main reason for going for more expensive GA car insurance policy is because in many accidents the minimum insurance doesn`t cover the cost of the accident, regardless if it’s for hospital costs, car repair or other property damage. The thing is that nowadays even simple hospital procedures can cost a lot, not to mention that you hit some luxury car. $50.000 per accident are too often, too many times too little to cover such costs.

How to deal with that?

In order to make the most of your money, look for great deals on insurance policies. The easiest ways is right in front of your nose, just enter your zip code above on this same page and wait for a while. After a while you`ll get quotes from some of the cheapest car insurance companies. It can easily happen to pay less and buy more. Stick to what you read and not only will you never be in trouble with auto insurance laws in Georgia but you will get the best insurance deals.


The Things That No One Is Telling You About Car Insurance Law In Georgia

Georgia car insurance laws are one of the strictest and at the same time, strangest laws in the United States. Not knowing them can cost you from you heard earn dollars. However, if you are familiar with what the insurance law requires from every driver in the state of Georgia, you`ll probably be alright. Here are some overviews on some of the things about auto insurance laws in this great state that nobody has told you about before, unless they are imposed to you.

The tort system

Georgia is one of the few states that follow this system when it comes to traffic accidents. This system was and still is a subject of many debates, but regardless it’s still in force. The car insurance law in Georgia says that for every traffic accident someone needs to be at fault. There is no problem up to this point, and it makes perfect sense. However, there is one law that says that motorists in Georgia are not required to own an insurance policy. In case you are involved in an accident with a motorist that doesn’t own any insurance policy, your policy will cover all the damage regardless whose fault it is.

More exceptions

Another way to pay for someone’s mistakes is if you are involved in an accident with vehicles that are allowed on the roads and at the same time as with motorcycles are not covered by insurance policies. Vehicles used seasonally for agricultural purposes don’t need to be covered with an insurance policy. However, that doesn’t mean that accidents with those vehicles don’t happen. On the contrary, this happens and as with motorcycles, their insurances cover the cost regardless whose fault is it. Once again, the car driver`s insurance policy covers the damage caused in the accident.

The alternatives

The alternative to purchasing car insurance policy in GA is to secure a bank deposit or a bond that can guarantee that you have the minimum coverage (injury and property damage coverage minimum) $100.000. If you want to go down that road you need to address the Georgia Insurance and safety fire commissioner for that matter.


This is often used to describe the minimum requirement insurance for the state of Georgia. 25/50/25 has the following meaning:

–              The policy must be able to cover at least $25.000 per person, per accident.

–              The policy must be able to cover at least $50.000 per accident if two or more people are hurt in the accident.

–              The policy must be able to produce at least $25.000 for property damages.

*This is under the assumption that the insurer is at fault for the accident.

In case if you are involved in an accident in which the other party does not possess any insurance (motorcycle or agricultural vehicle), you are not entitle to any money compensation. Even though this sounds bit unreal and unfair, those are the insurance laws which are in force for now. The only thing that one can do is to make sure that he is not overpaying on his insurance rates.

The best way to make sure you don’t do that is to enter your zip above and check out some of the offered quotes. You might not be able to change car insurance laws in Georgia but you can definitely change your insurance rates.

Georgia Auto Insurance Law -Four Factors You Need To Know

Georgia is known for many things from which the historical heritage and the southern hospitality stand out the most. The drivers in the state of Georgia, as other drivers in other states, must follow its auto insurance requirements and laws to have the privilege to operate a motor vehicle. Even though that many car insurance laws in Georgia are pretty much the same to insurance laws in other states, they have few specifics that are characteristic for this state.

Minimum coverage

According to the Georgia law, all drivers need to carry their accident liability insurance policy in their vehicle in any given moment. Their insurance policy must be according to the Georgia standards and to carry at least $25.000 per person for injuries sustained in an accident cause by the insurer, $50.000 for bodily injuries of two or more people and $25.000 for property damage. The common term used to refer to these minimum requirements is 25/50/25. However, one needs to know that these requirements are designed only for the purpose of protecting other parties in an accident cause by the insurer. That is the only goal and this coverage doesn’t help for damages to the insurer’s vehicle, property or person in case of some sort of vehicle accident.



The tort system is how Georgia deals with traffic accidents. According to the tort law system one party is always guilty in an accident. As a result of that, Georgia motorists are not obligated to possess personal injury insurance or to have under-insured/uninsured motorist protection. Hypothetically, if you are involved in an accident, you possess the minimum required insurance coverage and the other involved party is uninsured motorists. The tort law says one of the parties needs to be “at fault” for the accident. In case it’s your fault, your insurance will cover the other party’s damage. On the other hand, if the uninsured motorist is at fault, you are not entitled to any money compensation from him. Might sound unfair but that’s how the law functions and it works as such for a long time.


One needs to be fully aware that Georgia has heavy penalties for drivers caught behind the wheel without proper GA auto insurance policy. The law is pretty clear and strict when it comes to penalizing drivers without insurance – every driver that drives uninsured risks 60 to 90 days suspension of his driver’s license. In order to register your vehicle in the State of Georgia you need to provide written proof of insurance. Also, if a driver without insurance policy is pulled his vehicle can be towed. In addition to that the driver risks several more fines if caught driving without it.


The State of Georgia offers few exceptions to its insurance laws. Here are the exemptions

–              Salvaged or junked vehicles or vehicles with an expired lease

–              Vehicles used seasonally or for agricultural purposes such as farming equipment

–              Repossessed vehicles or vehicles that have been stolen

–              Motorists are not required to insure inoperable vehicles

Even though that this gives you a glimpse in how the auto insurance in Georgia system works it won’t help you much in getting the best rates.

Simply enter your zip on the top of this page and get quotes from the cheapest insurance providers. Combine our free quote system with your knowledge in Georgia auto insurance laws and you’ll never overpay your insurance policy.

Things You Need To Know About Georgia Auto Insurance Laws

The general definition for car insurance is that it is a tool for establishing financial responsibility in case an accident occurs that results in property damage, injury or even death. As with every state, Georgia Auto Insurance Laws require from the drivers to have insurance policy for coverage of damages that are caused by the insurer. In addition to that, drivers that operate financed or leased vehicles are commonly required by the loan giver to have additional types of coverage – collision and comprehensive.

Believe it or not, the state of Georgia is extremely strict when it comes to auto insurance. If you are ever found driving around without proper vehicle coverage or at least the required minimum coverage, you are surely going to find yourself in trouble. The reason is that you will not just face severe fines and penalties but there is also a really good chance that your registration might get suspended. In order to get it reinstated, you would need to pay a lot of fee and penalties and you would also have a bad credit count because of this mistake. For this reason, it is necessary for you to acquire in depth details about the basics of auto insurance in Georgia to be able to get ample coverage with the best policies being offered by top notch providers in the state of Georgia.

Basic insurance requirements in the state of Georgia

Georgia auto insurance laws require the drivers to have bodily injury insurance that features minimum liability of $25.000 for one injured party as well as minimum of $50.000 per accident. Translated in plain English, this means that if the insurer causes an automobile accident which will result with the injury in one person, the insurance policy must cover at least $25.000 of the total sum requested as a result of the accident. In case the driver causes an accident in which two or more people are injured the policy must be able to produce minimum $50.000. Also, the driver needs to have property damage insurance policy that includes minimum liability of $25.000 per accident. Driving without insurance policy in the eyes of the State of Georgia is a misdemeanor punishable with $1.000 fine and up to one year in jail.

Insurance reporting

The State of Georgia demands from all insurance companies to electronically report their insurance policies to the Electronic Insurance Compliance System within thirty days, counting from the first day of purchase. That way, the data’s stored in that database are available for the law enforcement as well as other state officers. Regardless of that, every driver is obligated to carry their policy in their vehicle in any given time. The insurance companies that make the policies are also obligated to report termination or cancellation to the Department of Driver Services. Once the DDS receives that information it contacts the driver which policy is terminated or canceled and instructs him or her to make new insurance policy. If the driver fails to obtain new insurance policy, he risks to be fined or to earn a suspension on vehicle registration.

Alternative solutions to financial responsibility

Even though that most of the drivers in the State of Georgia prefer to establish some form of financial responsibility within standard auto insurance policies, there happen to be alternative ways to do so. Drivers can secure a deposit, bond or other means that can guarantee the $100.000 minimum coverage (injury and property damage coverage minimums). These matters are handled by the Georgia Insurance and safety fire commissioner and you must always make sure that you keep up with the laws of auto insurance in Georgia if you wish to confirm that you continually get to drive your car around without getting worried about suffering from severe consequences.

Just like you wish to make sure that your family remains safe at home at all times and you do so by purchasing insurance for them, it is necessary for you to purchase auto insurance as well to make sure that you get compensated in case any accidents or even mishaps take place while you are out driving on the road. All of these steps are necessary for your personal security so make sure that you take them into consideration.

The consumers in Georgia are required to possess automobile liability insurance, particularly for the minimum limits that are deemed necessary for one to be able to drive on the highways and public road in the state of Georgia. The minimum liability limits are said to be bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Both of these are priced at about $25,000 per person and $50,000 per occurrence on an individual basis. Then there is liability insurance which needs to be paid to cover for the damages that were caused by accidents that occurred due to your personal negligence. The fact of the matter remains that if anyone is found without possessing the minimum coverage, the person is going to be subjected to stiff fines that are very high and the worst part is that your registration might also be suspended. In such a case, reinstating your registration is going to be a terrible ordeal and you would also be required to pay high reinstatement fees. On the whole, the experience is totally not worth it and it is highly recommended for you to purchase ample insurance coverage so that you can drive around without having to worry about issues such as these.

However, even with all the knowledge on the car insurance laws in Georgia you can’t get the lowest rate if you don’t know how to do so. That’s something that requires only minutes of your time.

By entering your zip code on the top of this page, you can instantly get free quotes from plenty of insurance companies. At the end of the day, sticking to the Auto Insurance Laws in Georgia doesn’t have to mean that you need to overpay for your policy.

Car Insurance In GA: Why Is It Important?

If you are a citizen of Georgia or planning to shift there, then you should be well aware of the laws which pertain to car insurance. There are many different laws for cars, car insurance, and the drivers who drive it. The first thing which you should know is that car insurance in GA is a must. It is a mandatory law for cars and their owners to have their car insured.

Another thing which you should keep in mind is that there is a minimum limit on the amount of insurance you are supposed to have. The limit is $25000 for each person, this is for body injury. Then $50000 is for two or more people per accident. And another $25000 for property damage for each accident. This is what you have to have when you are a resident of the state of Georgia.

When you start to get insurance, you should read through all the laws there are in reference to car insurance. Another important thing to remember as a citizen of the state of Georgia is that you have to carry your insurance card with you at all times. This is in case of any accident, so that you do not get another fine for you. You should always be in possession of your driving license and your insurance card. This makes all procedures after an accident much faster and easier.

Another more important law which you should know about your state Georgia is that it is a Tort state. What this means is that in case of an accident, the person who is at fault will be held responsible for the property as well as body damage. This is a good thing, because then you will be able to have another person pay for your premium.

These laws are something which you should always know about. These will help you in case of any problem. Also knowledge is power; it will help you get out of a tricky situation if you are aware of what the state says about different situations. It is not hard to know these things. One last thing you should keep in mind about the laws of the state of Georgia in regard to a lapse of your insurance. You will have to pay a fine if your insurance lapses for more than ten days. After this lapse, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your insurance activated again.

As the time of your lapse increases, so does the penalty for your lapse increases. Apart from the fines, there are heavy penalties for the owner of a car whose insurance has lapsed. Be careful when it comes to keeping up with payment of your insurance. This is very important to know, as your car number plate will be suspended in case of a lapse.

Please enter your ZIP code number on the site. This will help you get a good idea of all the laws which pertain to car insurance in GA.